Image description goes here.

In Studio with Jack Ludlam

We're excited to introduce our "In Studio" series where we highlight local designers and artists in their creative production spaces. In this first series, we'll visit Jack Ludlam at his LoHi gallery and studio.



FF: Where are you from and how did you end up living in Colorado?

JL: I grew up kind of all over the place. I was born in New Jersey but my family moved to Europe when I was two. We lived in France and England for several years before coming back to the US. Eventually I ended up in Ohio. That is where I still consider to be “home”. I actually ended up in Colorado as the result of a coin toss. I didn’t want to go to college, but my dad insisted. So on the night of decision when I couldn’t make a choice between schools my dad suggested flipping a coin between Washington and Colorado. Two months later I was in Denver at Regis university.

2023-06-26 InStudio-JackLudlam10


FF: At what stage in your life did you first take interest in photography?

JL: I first picked up a camera when I was somewhere around eleven years old. I spent all my spare time hunting and fishing when I was growing up. Occasionally I would opt for my moms camera instead of my fishing rod. I really enjoyed the mechanics of all of it. Clicking the shutter felt satisfying, advancing the film sounded interesting, and waiting for the 4x6 prints to be finished at Walgreens was all exciting to me.

2023-06-26 InStudio-JackLudlam4


FF: Was there a certain person or figure in your life that inspired your passion for the art form?

JL: Honestly, I think it was my mom. It’s not that she necessarily saw me as a “creative” when I was young. It’s just that she was always creating something. She paints, she ballroom dances, she is an incredible cook. I think being around someone who’s always creating something rubs off on you.

2023-06-26 InStudio-JackLudlam3


FF: How would you describe your style of photography?

JL: I think these days I would classify it as object study photography with a focus on Americana. I think that detail, whether it be on a persons skin or the surface of an seemingly boring object can be interesting. In my current work the intention is to reduce distractions so the viewer can appreciate and admire the subject for what is it and the details that make it unique.

2023-06-26 InStudio-JackLudlam1



FF: What does “home” mean to you?

JL: I think home is anywhere that your surroundings resonate with you. I know that sounds cheesy, but there are certain places that you experience for the first time that just make sense. Things line up. Anxiety goes away. Ohio is my physical “home” but last year I was in northern Wyoming camping by a trout stream and that sure felt like home too.

To learn more about Jack's work visit, www.JackLudlam.com

2023-06-26 InStudio-JackLudlam6

Date

08/09/2023

Share

Read more

NEWSLETTER

FANTASTIC FRANK

Acclaimed European real estate agency Fantastic Frank, now on the U.S. Market.

Founded in Stockholm 2010, Fantastic Frank is an international family of franchise offices across Germany, Spain, Italy, Sweden, Denmark, Portugal and the US, with an aim to be the first hand choice when selling design-led properties. The name? You are Fantastic. We are Frank.


Colorado1735 Central St Suite 10080211 Denver(303) 309-9494colorado@fantasticfrank.co
DubaiThe Bureau | Gold & Diamond Park Bldg. 6 Dubai+971 56 265 9968dubai@fantasticfrank.com
Stockholm, HQ, SwedenNorr Mälarstrand 1011220 Stockholm+46 8 120 45 100stockholm@fantasticfrank.se
Barcelona, SpainAv. de la Catedral, 608002 Barcelona+34 672 653 995barcelona@fantasticfrank.com
Copenhagen, DenmarkBredgade 451260 Copenhagen+45 39 63 99 99copenhagen@fantasticfrank.dk
Berlin, GermanyNestorstrasse 110711 Berlin+49 30 525 46 941berlin@fantasticfrank.de
Frankfurt, GermanySchifferstraße 1160594 Frankfurt+49 69 366 09 470frankfurt@fantasticfrank.de
Hamburg, GermanyDanziger Str. 3620099 Hamburg+49 40 21 08 11 65hamburg@fantasticfrank.de
Heidelberg, GermanyRohrbacher Straße 4069115 Heidelberg+49 171 7754982heidelberg@fantasticfrank.de
Palma, SpainCarrer de Berenguer de Sant Joan 307012 Palma+34 871 027 049palma@fantasticfrank.com
Ibiza, SpainVenda des Poble 607814 Ibiza+34 931 80 34 59ibiza@fantasticfrank.com
Lisbon, PortugalRua de Santos-o-Velho 81200-656 Lisboa+351 914 164 659lisbon@fantasticfrank.com

By using this site you agree to our PRIVACY POLICY.
Please also read how we handle COOKIES.

Fantastic Frank fully supports the principles of the Fair Housing Act

Each Fantastic Frank office is independently owned and operated.

To top